Bossier Parish Qualifiers for Oct. 12th Election: No Contest for Some

2019 Bossier Vote: Election Returns

Bossier Parish qualifying has ended and a few surprises have surfaced for voters to consider during the October 12 election.

First though, here are the candidates that have been automatically reelected with no challengers qualifying:

  • BESE District 4 Tony Davis, Republican
  • State Representative 2nd Representative District Samuel L. ‘Sam’ Jenkins Jr., Democrat
  • State Representative 8th Representative District Raymond J. Crews, Republican
  • State Representative 9th Representative District ‘Dodie’ Horton, Republican
  • Sheriff Julian Whittington, Republican
  • Clerk of Court Jill Sessions, Republican
  • Assessor Bobby W. Edmiston, Republican
  • Coroner John M. Chandler, Republican
  • Police Juror District 1 ‘Bob’ Brotherton, Republican
  • Police Juror District 5 Jack ‘Bump’ Skaggs, Republican
  • Police Juror District 7 James ‘Jimmy’ Cochran, Democrat
  • Police Juror District 8 Douglas Rimmer Sr., Republican
  • Police Juror District 10 Jerome L. Darby, Independent
  • Police Juror District 11 ‘Tom’ Salzer, Republican
  • Police Juror District 12 Paul ‘Mac’ Plummer, Republican

Meanwhile one candidate will be newly elected without having to run a campaign or face a challenger. Thomas Pressly, a Shreveport Republican will be State Representative for the 6th District, replacing term-limited Thomas Carmody, also a Republican.


However, voters will have some choices to make, including a hotly contested Police Jury race.

First though, Ryan Gatti will face two opponents in October for his District 36 Louisiana State Senate seat: Benton Republican Robert Mills and Mattie Preston, a Democrat from Minden.

Debbie Hollis, an Independent in Shreveport will challenge Shreveport incumbent Republican Barrow Peacock for the 37th District State Senate seat.

For State Representative in the 1st District, there are three qualifiers to replace term-limited Jim Morris (R-Oil City), all Republicans. They are James Harper and Randall Liles, both of Shreveport, and Danny McCormick of Vivian.

Incumbent Wayne McMahen (R-Springhill) will face opponent Creighton Wilson, a Democrat also from Springhill for State Representative of the 10th District.

Two Bossier City Republicans, Charles Smith and Cynthia Carroll-Bridges will face off for District Judge of the 26th Judicial District Court, a position vacated by Jeff Thompson who was elected to the 2nd Circuit Court of Appeals in March.

In Bossier Parish Police Jury contests, incumbent Glenn L. Benton (R-Haughton) will face Libertarian William Wittmer of Haughton in Police Jury District 2.

The Bossier Parish Police Jury District 3 seat held by retiring Wanda Bennett has drawn the most interest from local political hopefuls with five qualifiers. They are Martha Peace Reyenga (R-Benton), Philip Rodgers (R-Benton), Wes Shepherd (R-Benton), Jim Viola (R-Bossier City) and Robert D. Williams (R-Benton).

Norman Craig, Police Jury member for District 4, attracted a fellow Republican challenger in Ed Jorden of Benton.

Meanwhile, two police jurors have apparently decided not to run for reelection.

Police Juror Rick Avery did not qualify for his District 6 seat, and two Republicans are seeking to be his replacement: Chris Marsiglia and Greg Nichols.

And District 9 juror Fred Shewmake, Jr. also did not qualify. Jason Brown (R-Bossier City) and Charles L. Gray (D-Bossier City) are running for the post.